A LIFE OF SIMPLICITY 091112

 

As school gets more and more hectic I feel like I am in a rut for how to get everything accomplished. I have so much to do but so little time. Here are some tips I came across that I am putting into action for a life of simplicity.

1.Early Starts: rushing in the morning to get dressed and make the bus on time is no fun. Especially when you get to school and realize you left a crucial item at home, it throughs off your whole day. I want to wake up get time with God, have some breakfast and clear up any homework that I might not have finished, check emails and perhaps answer my parent’s phone calls when they call me at 7:00AM on their way to work.

2.Prepare for Tomorrow: picking out my outfit while half asleep or stepping on things while I am trying to get up on the right side of the bed can waste time and cause distraction. The plan is to shower, get my bag and books together pick out my outfit and have a plan for the next day before my head hits the pillow. I feel like I sometimes even sleep better knowing I have dealt with the little things

3. Plan Meals: I will plan my meals and grocery shop on monday evenings in order to lead a healthy lifestyle. If I don’t them I end up stoping by fast-food places when I am too tired to cook or eating junk from a vending machine when I haven’t packed fruit or almonds.

4.One Load a Day: If I do one small load of laundry my basket won’t overflow, I will actually fold and put it away and I won’t be in need of something to wear that I know is dirty. I can do it while I am doing homework, cleaning the house or watching TV.

5.Suds Before Sleep: Keeping the kitchen clean and not leaving dishes in the sink is something I have been raised doing but this year I will put it into practice. It will be hard but, at least there won’t be bad smells or fruit flies.

6.Pick Up: I will take 5 minutes every morning and night picking up my area. I won’t be ashamed to leave my bedroom door wide open. Everything will have a place and I won’t be franticly looking for something I will know where it is, and save a lot of time. I also think that I can have better sleep knowing my room is cleaned

7.Bed Routine: I want to do the same thing every  night. I want to go to bed at the same time every night, and wake up at the same time every morning.

I’ll keep you updated in how I keep up with my goals.

Keep Calm and Carry On

Colleen DeAnna

Leave a comment