What’s really good? 07092013

So recently I have been paying bills by working at Faber & Brand LLC and it feels good to be on my own, making my own decisions as a college grad. I’m saving and still dreaming of the day when I own my own photo business though.

Just an update:

I have been taking family photos here and there and will be posting them on my portrait sister photo blog at ColleenDeAnnaPhoto.Wordpress.com.

I went to visit my sister this past weekend flying for the first time by alone to Atlanta Georgia.  Along with good time and memories I got some great maternity photos of her and her boyfriend Jeremy, that I am excited to show you.

I have also started a new portrait series called “Passion Portraits.” It all started with the fact that I don’t want to loose the technique and passion I have gained for photography just because I have an office job.  In addition I came across an old photograph of my mother when she was young. She was at the stove icing mine or my sister’s birthday cake.  She had wide rimmed glasses, her hair on top of her head and the biggest smile on her face. I loved seeing my mom that way, doing what she loved, serving her family. Then it got me thinking, I would love to share what I felt with others. How cool would it be to make photos of women doing what they loved, or were “passionate” about? So that in the future when they had a family of their own that family member would look at that photo and feel what I felt, love for a passionate woman. It may all sound silly but I have started and I am excited to see how my first solo personal project turns out. I am giving myself a due date of  Sunday December 1, 2013.

I have continued my portraits of hands, I love hands!.  I am grateful for my hands and though they may be discolored and my fingers may be short and stubby they do so much for me. I want to make photos of people’s hands and the stories they tell. Another en-devour with no focus. I am giving myself a due date of  Wednesday October 16, 2013.

Last but not least I want to tell you all my dream, so it’s out there and I won’t forget or deny it.  I want to rent a building somewhere in the world (still haven’t decided where I want to live) with a warehouse feel and a  loft. That building will have a beautiful sign outside it that reads COLLEENDEANNA PHOTOGRAPHY (or something better lol).  I want to have a gallery of great photos up front; mine and perhaps other artist’s. I want to have a studio in the back with my own lights, backdrops, and props. I’d hope for a  team of experienced photographers who set up advanced lighting images but also make natural light pictures. I’ll have my own logo, ads, business cards, and loyal clientele.  As this all begins I will live upstairs.  I’ll eventually grow my business and buy a house and settle down but that part is important. I want to own the building and live there. I’m giving myself a deadline of June 1, 2016. I think this dream is absolutely achievable. I just can’t loose sight of who I was meant to be.

Keep calm and carry on

Colleen DeAnna

Leave a comment